E.S. Vega, MS.Ed

Digital Media Specialist

Adjunct Professor (ED-TECH)

Teacher Education

SUNY Plattsburgh

Grenada, 2016
Grenada, 2016
Waikiki, Hawai'i, 2016
Fiji, 2016
Waikiki, Hawai'i, 2016
Hanauma Bay, 2016
Waikiki Beach, 2016
Grenada, 2016
Fiji, 2016
Fiji, 2016
Fiji, 2016
Fiji, 2016
Grenada, 2016
Grenada, 2016
Grenada, 2016
Fiji, 2016
Fiji, 2016
Hanauma Bay, 2016
Hanauma Bay, 2016
Pearl Harbor, 2016
Pearl Harbor, 2016
Lunch in Fiji, 2016

It is important to know where we, as Educators, stand when it comes to Copyrights and Intellectual Property. This is an area that is often more confusing that one thinks. As Educators we have some degree of protection as long as it remains within the (brick and mortar) classroom. Other forms of protection come under "Fair Use Act". It is just as important to know what the rules are as Media Content Producers.

I have compiled a variety of lists on the various aspects of protecting our work as well as where to find information that will help guide us when utilizing digital media either in the Clssroom or Online. As more information comes in and filtered through, I will post additional resources.

The Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA) of 1998 is facing some proposed amendments in order to reflect the age of mobile devices and newer technology. Once available, these resources will be updated.

These resources are meant to serve as guidelines and provide background information and by no means are they to take the place of legal consultation.

Copyrights || Creative Commons || Intellectual Property || Fair Use Act
Digital Millennium Copyright Act || Trademarks || Patents || Public Domain


Copyright -

What is Copyright? - http://www.whatiscopyright.org/

Copyright - http://www.copyright.gov/circs/

Section 108 - http://www.loc.gov/section108/

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/help/249141925204375/


Creative Commons -

What are Creative Commons? - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Creative_Commons

Creative Commons - http://creativecommons.org/

Creative Commons Licensing - http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/1.0/

Free Culture - http://www.free-culture.cc/


Intellectual Property -

World Intellectual Property Organization - http://www.wipo.int/portal/index.html.en

American Intellectual Property Law Association - http://www.aipla.org/

Canadian Intellectual Property Organization - http://cipo.gc.ca/

United States Department of Justice - http://www.usdoj.gov/criminal/cybercrime/


Fair Use Act -

What is Fair Use? - http://fairuse.stanford.edu/overview/fair-use/what-is-fair-use/

Fair Use - http://www.copyright.gov/fls/fl102.html


Digital Millennium Copyright Act -

DMCA - http://www.copyright.gov/legislation/dmca.pdf

Google - https://support.google.com/legal/answer/1120734

YouTube - https://www.youtube.com/yt/copyright/

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/legal/copyright.php


Trademarks -

Trademark Basics - http://www.uspto.gov/trademarks-getting-started/trademark-basics

Search Trademark Database - http://www.uspto.gov/trademarks-application-process/search-trademark-database


Patents -

General Information Concerning Patents - http://www.uspto.gov/patents-getting-started/general-information-concerning-patents

Legal Information Institute - https://www.law.cornell.edu/wex/patent


Public Domian -

What is "Public Domain? (FAQ #1) - https://web.law.duke.edu/cspd/publicdomainday/2012/faqs

When U.S. Works Pass Into The Public Domain - http://www.unc.edu/~unclng/public-d.htm

New Rules for using Public Domain material - http://www.copylaw.com/new_articles/PublicDomain.html

Public Domain (FAQ #2) - https://www.teachingcopyright.org/handout/public-domain-faq


^Top